192 Kbps
128 Kbps
64 Kbps
48 Kbps
Arm Radio FM 107
Vem Radio FM 91.1
Im Radio FM 103.8
Armenia PM's bloc wins landslide victory in snap election
2018-12-10 08:38:17

Armenia's acting Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan's My Step bloc has won a convincing victory in Sunday's snap parliamentary election with 70.43% of the votes, caccording to preliminary results released by the Central Electoral Commission (CEC).

Prosperous Armenia Party and Bright Armenia will also make it to the National Assembly with 8.27% and 6.37% of votes, respectively. 

With 7.70 % the former Ruling Republican Party fails to get enough votes to enter the 101-seat Parliament. 

The Armenian Revolutionary federation Dashnaktsutyun garnered 3,89%, another 2 cast their ballot  for Menk bloc. Sasna Tsrer got 1.82%, while Citizen's Decitsion Party, the Christin-Democratic Revival, the National Progress and Orinats Yerkir Parties had less than 1%. 

According to CEC, the voter turnout was 48.63% against 60.86 during the previous parliamentary elections. 

Parties and alliances participating in the elections may submit applications to the Central Electoral Commission on declaring the election results invalid until  December 14, 6pm.

The final voting results should be summed up and the preliminary mandate distribution should be made and published by the CEC on December 16.

After the mandates have been distributed, the parties and political forces will have until December 23, 6 pm to enter coalition with a maximum of two forces elected to Parliament.

On December 23 the CEC will make a final decision on whether the National Assembly has been elected or a second round is needed.


Most read